Migrate existing contacts and users to our predefined roles

With the new Users & Roles concept, we are having changes in the privileges and introducing the concept of roles. To keep up with the changes, we did some migrations for the current contacts/users to get them in the correct roles.

RELATED:

WHY DID WE DO THIS MIGRATION?

ROLES are now mandatory for users (and contacts) in Onix Work
Therefore in this release, we created some default roles and match existing users (and contacts) to our predefined roles

For more information on roles and privileges, please refer to this article: Users & Roles Module

ONIX PREDEFINED ROLES

Onix is introducing our predefined roles to match the existing contacts and users in, which are:

  • Administrator role
  • Users role
  • Worker role
  • Onix Tag role
  • Roles for contacts:
    • Contacts - Custom 1
    • Contacts - Custom 2
    • Contacts - Custom 3
    • Contacts - Custom 4

These roles have their own predefined privileges.

  • What are privileges? Please check for more information in this article: Users & Roles Module

    • Privileges give your users permission to perform actions, read information, or see nothing at all on a specific module or function.
      • Full.pngFull access you can see and perform actions on the module or function.
      • No Access.pngNo access you cannot see the module or function.
      • Read only.pngRead only you can see the module or function only, no action available.
    • If you set the module to Full Full 2.png but you uncheck Uncheck.png the privilege of the function, the function will become Read-only (equal Read only 2.png)
  • See which privileges are predefined for each role in this file: Predefined roles for migration

THE CONCEPT

  • This migration will move contacts/users with current privileges to a predefined role with new privileges
  • Only create a new role if have contacts/users that match the rule.
  • We won’t create a new role if we don’t have any contact/user that matches the requirement.
  • The contact/user that moved to a role will not be included in another role.

HOW WE DO

Predefined role Move contacts/users to this role if… Notes
Administrator Any contact/user with the privilege “Account Administrator”.
User Any contact or user with license Equipment Owner, Inspector, Supplier OR Concurrent license If in Users role there is any contact or user with “Rental project” old privileges, new Rental privileges of Users will be Full. Otherwise, they are No access.
Worker Any contact or user with license = Worker
Onix Tag Any contact or user with license = Onix Tag Team Member

Regarding roles for Contacts

Predefined role Move contacts/users to this role if…
Contacts - Custom 1 Any contact or user with license = (None), “Sign mandatory inspection” = NO, “Sign certificate” = NO AND “Job verifier” = NO
Contacts - Custom 2 Any contact or user with license = (None), AND (“Sign mandatory inspection” = YES OR “Sign certificate” = YES) AND “Job verifier” = NO
Contacts - Custom 3 Any contact or user with license = (None), “Sign mandatory inspection” = NO, “Sign certificate” = NO, AND “Job verifier” = YES
Contacts - Custom 4 Any contact or user with license = (None), AND (“Sign mandatory inspection” = YES OR “Sign certificate” = YES), AND “Job verifier” = YES